Guardian cartoonist Martin Rowson to present 2015 Secularist of the Year Awards

Posted: Thu, 15 Jan 2015 14:51

The National Secular Society is pleased to announce that Guardian cartoonist and author Martin Rowson will present this year's Secularist of the Year awards.

NSS President Terry Sanderson said : "Cartoonists have been on the front line of the fight for secularism and the right to free speech for the past few years. It is appropriate, then, to have one of Britain's best-known practitioners of the art to present this year's prize. Martin Rowson is an old friend and honorary associate of the NSS and we are thrilled to welcome him to Secularist of the Year, which this year is going to be very special."

The prize for Secularist of the Year is awarded annually in recognition of an individual or an organisation considered to have made an outstanding contribution to the secular cause.

This year's prize will be presented on Saturday 28 March at a lunch event in central London.

Tickets for the event are on sale now online at £40 for NSS members (£50 for non-members) which includes a three course lunch with a welcome cocktail on arrival. Tickets can also be purchased by sending a cheque payable to National Secular Society to 25 Red Lion Square, London, WC1R 4RL.

Previous years' events have all sold out, so please don't delay if you want to join us for what promises to be another memorable occasion.

Nominations for Secularist of the Year can be submitted here.

Previous winners of Secularist of the Year:

2014 Safak Pavey, for her international work promoting secularism, Human Rights and gender equality as well as humanitarian aid and peace-building – presented by Kerry McCarthy MP, Shadow Foreign Office Minister.

2013 In honour of young human rights activist Malala Yousafzai, the prize was donated to Plan UK, represented by Debbie Langdon-Davies – presented by Michael Cashman MEP.

2012 Peter Tatchell, for his lifelong commitment to the defence of human rights against religious fundamentalism – presented by Nick Cohen.

2011 Sophie in 't Veld MEP, for her work as chair of the European Parliamentary Platform for Secularism in Politics – presented by A. C. Grayling.

2010 The Southall Black Sisters group, for their support of black and Asian women's human rights, accepted by Pragna Patel – presented by Michael Irwin.

2009 Evan Harris MP and Lord Avebury, joint award for their work in the abolition of blasphemy law –presented by Richard Dawkins.

2007 Mina Ahadi, founder of the German Central Council of Ex-Muslims – presented by Joan Smith.

2006 Prof. Steve Jones, biologist at University College London and author of a number of books on evolution –presented by Dick Taverne.

2005 Maryam Namazie, for her work in defence of women's rights and the right to freedom of expression –presented by Polly Toynbee.

Secularist of the Year

Nominations and ticket sales for this year's event have now closed. Nominations for next year's even will open arround December.

Tags: Secularist of the Year