Yasmin Alibhai-Brown to present Secularist of the Year awards

Posted: Thu, 02 Feb 2017

Yasmin Alibhai-Brown to present Secularist of the Year awards

The National Secular Society is pleased to announce that this year's Secularist of the Year award will be presented by journalist and writer Yasmin Alibhai-Brown.

Alibhai-Brown is an author, columnist and broadcaster who has written for the Guardian, Daily Mail, Independent, Telegraph and New Statesman.

In recent years she has been a powerful advocate for women's rights and a critic of sharia law and faith schools.

Keith Porteous Wood, the executive director of the National Secular Society, said: "We are delighted that Yasmin will present this year's Michael Irwin prize for Secularist of the Year.

"There are so many campaigners and groups worthy of recognition this year for their work in defending human rights, secularism and freedom. Come along and show your support."

The award will be presented at a lunch event in central London on Saturday 18 March. All are welcome to attend, but members of the National Secular Society benefit from a discounted ticket price.

The winner is chosen by the elected council of the National Secular Society, from nominations sent by our members and supporters.

Recent winners include Educate Together, Charlie Hebdo and Turkish MP Safak Pavey.

In addition to the main prize, National Secular Society uses the occasion to thank other individuals and groups for their contributions to the secularist movement and for their support of the Society and its mission.

Secularist of the Year

Nominations and ticket sales for this year's event have now closed. Nominations for next year's even will open arround December.

Tags: Secularist of the Year