Who should be the next Secularist of the Year?

Posted: Wed, 17th Dec 2014

Tickets are now on sale for Secularist of the Year 2015 and the National Secular Society is seeking the public's nominations to receive the prize.

The Prize for Secularist of the Year is awarded annually in recognition of an individual or an organisation considered to have made an outstanding contribution to the secular cause.

This year's prize will be presented on Saturday 28 March at a lunch event in central London.

Previous winners have included the Turkish MP and human rights campaigner Safak Pavey, advice and advocacy organisation Southall Black Sisters, Peter Tatchell and former MP Evan Harris and Lord Avebury.

Nominations for next year's prize can be made via email or via our <u>website</u> to <u>admin@secularism.org.uk</u>. Emails should be titled 'Nomination' and include the name of the individual or organisation you would like to nominate with a brief description of why you think they deserve the award. Nominations close on Friday 23 January.

Tickets for the event are <u>on sale now</u> online at £40 for NSS members (£50 for non-members) which includes a three course lunch with a welcome cocktail on arrival. Tickets can also be purchased by sending a cheque payable to National Secular Society to 25 Red Lion Square, London, WC1R 4RL.

Previous years' events have all sold out, so please don't delay if you want to join us for what promises to be another memorable occasion.

Previous winners of Secularist of the Year:

2014 Safak Pavey, for her international work promoting secularism, Human Rights and gender equality as well as humanitarian aid and peace-building – *presented by Kerry McCarthy MP*, Shadow Foreign Office Minister.

2013 In honour of young human rights activist **Malala Yousafzai**, the prize was donated to **Plan UK**, represented by Debbie Langdon-Davies – *presented by Michael Cashman MEP*.

2012 Peter Tatchell, for his lifelong commitment to the defence of human rights against religious fundamentalism – *presented by Nick Cohen.*

2011 Sophie in 't Veld MEP, for her work as chair of the European Parliamentary Platform for Secularism in Politics – *presented by A. C. Grayling*.

2010 The Southall Black Sisters group, for their support of black and Asian women's human rights, accepted by Pragna Patel – *presented by Michael Irwin*.

2009 Evan Harris MP and Lord Avebury, joint award for their work in the abolition of blasphemy law – *presented by Richard Dawkins*.

2007 Mina Ahadi, founder of the German Central Council of Ex-Muslims – *presented by Joan Smith.*

2006 Prof. Steve Jones, biologist at University College London and author of a number of books on evolution – *presented by Dick Taverne*.

2005 Maryam Namazie, for her work in defence of women's rights and the right to freedom of expression – *presented by Polly Toynbee*.

Secularist of the Year

Secularist of the Year is an opportunity to celebrate the outstanding groups and individuals advancing secularism and related human rights. This year's award will be presented at our Secularism 2019 conference. Nominations are now open.

- Find out more
- Submit your nominations
- Share on What's App
- Share on Facebook
- Share on Twitter
- Share on Email
- Subscribe to RSS Feed